A Key to Brain Health…

September 26, 2010

Flattened house key and key ring

Copyright 2010 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

Research at the University of Illinois has shown that aerobic exercise can play a role in the improvement of cognitive functioning.  As I teach Psychology 101, and have gotten older, this info was quite appealing.    

Broken red cell phone keyboard

Copyright 2010 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

Last year I underwent more than a few surgical procedures-I went in for a physical and came out needing several repairs.  As a result, it has been nearly a year since I have exercised with any degree of regularity.  And I certainly have not exercised as I would have previously defined the term-I played college football, have ridden centuries on my bicycle, etc.  The interesting point to me is that I can no longer make my brain wrap-around that definition of exercise.  Fortunately, such exercise is not necessary in order to maintain a healthy brain.       

Broken grey cell phone

Copyright 2010 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

 So, with the goal of keeping my brain in shape, I started to walk around the neighborhood at a pace quick enough to raise my heart rate.  Each time my body seemed to say “let’s run-this is not fast enough”, my brain would counter, “Are you nuts?” and so I have continued to walk.  Perhaps this will change, perhaps not.    

Crushed Coca-Cola can

Copyright 2010 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

 The byproduct of this slower pace is that it has allowed me to see the objects that have been deposited along the road.  The objects in this post have all been found along my routes.  Please note that they have been collected and photographed elsewhere, not in situ.     

Collection of metal screws

Copyright 2010 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

This last one is quite interesting as I found 18 of these screws on one walk-they were several yards apart and along both sides of the road.  The others were collected for several days afterward.  It was as if Hansel and Gretel morphed with Groundhog Day.    

And, yes, I do still have trash on the brain.    

Take care.    

Leave a Reply

