Rocks

April 22, 2013

The coast of Passamaquoddy Bay in Perry, Maine.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

I have enjoyed playing with rocks for as long as I can remember.  In fact, I have vivid memories of this old cardboard potato chip canister in which I had stored my rock collection.  Each new treasure found its way there to be periodically removed for some key element of play.  Unfortunately, that collection was left behind during an un-planned move many, many years ago.

Rocky beach in Perry, Maine.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

The fascination with rocks continues, though, to this day.  When out and about I am constantly scanning the ground for interesting shapes, colours, and textures-some of whom will find their way into my new collection.  It is the sensory experience that draws me to rocks, and it is entirely possible that with quite a bit more thought, I might have become a geologist.  When younger, I was a bit of a rock climber.  I now tend to live this life in two different ways:  vicariously through reading John McPhee, a writer who appeals to my sensibilities-curiosity and desire to know without becoming overwhelmed with the scientific technicalities of geologic formations; and through filling my pockets with pebbles and my SDHC cards with photographs.

Large rock on beach in Perry, Maine.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

And so it was an unexpected pleasure to have had the opportunity to walk along a beach on a recent trip to Maine.  This rocky beach was exactly my idea of what a beach should be-sand need not apply.  Interspersed with the smaller, smoother stones were these much larger, not quite boulder-sized rocks.

Cracked rock, Perry Maine.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

Each of these must have had a fascinating tale to tell of the forces that shaped and, for some, broke them.

Rock, barnacles, and seaweed on beach.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

In other cases, several elements came together to suggest something primordial.

Rusted bolt on beach.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

Not surprisingly, included was a reminder that even the strongest elements of humankind must eventually, inexorably, bend to the will of the elements.  As a result nothing is really permanent, including rock collections and experiences such as these.

I want to go back.

Take care.

One Response to “Rocks”


  1. “…..a reminder that even the strongest elements of humankind must eventually, inexorably, bend to the will of the elements. As a result nothing is really permanent…” I love that,it reminds me of my grandpa,he used to say “No water stagnates under the bridge,or when things were really bad,he would say “The darkest hour of the day is before dawn!”


Leave a Reply

