Assumptions

August 25, 2013

Construction cranes behind movie theatre against cloudy sky.

Copyright 2013 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

The weather has continued to be much cooler than usual this time of year and with lower humidity.  As a result, skies are blue and populated with puffy, cumulus clouds.  The above scene offered a pleasant combination of hues and tones and so I made a few frames at a local mall.

Not long after having set up my kit, a security officer drove up and asked what I was doing.  I explained my rationale, citing the above information.  He informed me that the company who owns the property, General Growth Properties, does not allow photography on its property.  I assumed that since I was in the parking lot, I was on public property.  That was a faulty assumption, which was clarified by the security officer.  When GGP bought the mall and theatre, they also bought the parking lots-therefore, they are private property.  GGP appears to think that anyone with a camera taking pictures is a “terrorist” in this post-9/11 world.  That was a faulty assumption on their part.

It is also interesting to note that my behaviour was apparently being watched by cameras many hundreds of yards away.  Credit must be given where it is due:  the officer arrived within a few minutes of my starting to make photographs, so security there seems to be very responsive.  The officer explained the company’s policy and rationale in a pleasant and even manner and therefore was thoroughly professional in his interaction with me.  That was certainly appreciated.

The old adage about assumptions seems to be true:  when you make one, you make an ass out of you and me.

Take care.

Leave a Reply

