Choices

September 20, 2015

Photograph of graffiti on rocks

Copyright 2015 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

We all have to make choices.  The question becomes the process by which we arrive at our decisions, and this relates to the previous post about sensations and perceptions.  Those two factors greatly influence the decision-making process.  For a long (long) time, I was very focused on the issue of trash, and that is reflected in the number of posts written about, or related to, that subject.  In many cases, the photographs were the result of a rational decision to seek out and photograph the mess that people leave behind.  In other cases, I found trash when I was not specifically looking.  The cumulative result inexorably affected my mood and disposition.  It also sharpened my senses to the degree that I, in fact, find it very, very hard to not see trash.

BW photograph of backlit trees in bright sunlight

Copyright 2015 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

I have other choices.  I can look for different subject matter.  Yes, part of Morgan Run has been defaced, and it may take months for the paint to wear away.  That time may, however, be extended as a new norm has been established, and that is reflected in the graffiti that has been added since my last visit.  The photograph that leads off this post is an example.  The continued presence of these marking, though, does not mean that I have to keep subjecting myself to sensations that are discouraging.

BW photograph of rocks in bright sunlight

Copyright 2015 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

There are other places to walk.

I just have to make a different choice.

Take care.

 

Leave a Reply

