Meaningful

September 25, 2015

Aboandoned shopping cart near a cornfield

Copyright 2015 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

“Pretty” pictures or trash?

Abandoned shopping cart near a cornfield

Copyright 2015 Kevin P. Mick Photography. All rights reserved.

The bottom line for me is that in the post-New Orleans/Katrina trips era, I have wanted to make meaningful photographs.  What is considered “meaningful” is, of course, open to interpretation, and, to me, it has the connotation of “social consciousness”.  I want people to think about the impact they have on others and the environment.  If I can make photographs that stimulate the viewer to think “Why is this so?” or “Is this the way I want things to be?” or “What can I do about this?” then the photograph has meaning.

Will I stop making “pretty” pictures?  No, especially since they are good for the soul.  Will I continue to photograph trash? Most definitely.

That is, until there is no more trash to photograph-and that is not likely to happen anytime soon.

Take care.

Leave a Reply

